Home Tags Literature

Tag: Literature

Type Writer: With Help From the Public, Susan Silton Retypes ‘The Grapes of Wrath’

While it’s been said that a million monkeys on a million typewriters could eventually write Shakespeare, artist Susan Silton takes the theory to a personal level.

Early Michael Crichton Novels Prove his Dinosaur-Size Talent

Fans of Jurassic Park, The Andromeda Strain, and Timeline—the books that defined Michael Crichton's career—may not know about his early years as a writer of gritty crime novels

Running From Crazy: Mariel Hemingway Explores her Dark Family History in a New Film

The legend of Ernest Hemingway is one of the most hallowed in literary history: a tortured artist whose Faustian genius came at the price of his own sanity.

Celebrity Look-Alikes: Can You Tell These Biographers Apart From Their Subjects?

We found an eerie resemblance between these authors and the people they devote themselves to researching

How to Celebrate Pynchon in Public Day in L.A.

Happy tidings on Pynchon in Public Day, a holiday that book nerds celebrate by publicly reading the works of Thomas Pynchon.

She Walks in Poetry: Caroline Kennedy at ALOUD

Think poetry is dead? Witness what celebrity can bring to an underappreciated art form.

Life Advice from Zen Dude Jeff Bridges

Watching Bridges chat for an hour, it was easy to see how he had nailed the character. Jeff Bridges didn't simply play The Dude; Jeff Bridges is The Dude.

It Happened This Week in L.A. History: The Voice of the Roaring ‘20s is Silenced

The Great Gatsby author F. Scott Fitzgerald died of a massive heart attack in his Hollywood apartment while working on his final book, The Love of the Last Tycoon.

GATZ: Great Gatsby Redux

Can you really stage The Great Gatsby with actors speaking every word of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s 1925 novel of love and acquisition? Brooklyn theater troupe Elevator Repair Service just did.