Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Returns to L.A.

Randy Newman and the late, great Donna Summer are among those welcomed this year

For the first time since 1993, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will hold its induction ceremony in Los Angeles to honor Randy Newman, Heart, Public Enemy, Rush, Albert King, Donna Summer, Lou Adler, and Quincy Jones.

Newman, Heart, Public Enemy, and Rush are all confirmed to perform at tomorrow’s ceremony at L.A. Live’s Nokia Theatre, wher they’ll be joined on stage by several other big names.

Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready and Alice in Chains‘ Jerry Cantrell are set to play with Heart, who will be formally inducted by Soundgarden and Audioslave frontman Chris Cornell.

Jackson Browne and John Fogerty will perform with L.A.’s own Randy Newman.

Usher is slated to sing for Quincy Jones, one of this year’s recipients of the Ahmet Ertegun Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Lou Adler, longtime producer and owner of the Roxy Theatre, is the other; Carole King will perform for him.

Another first this year: Fans had a say in who gained entry into Cleveland’s hallowed halls. Last fall, the public voted on to narrow down selections to the top five acts, which were then counted on a “fans’ ballot” along with votes from the usual “international voting body of more than 600 artists, historians and industry members,” according to CNN. Bands and artists are only eligible if they’ve released work at least 25 years before appearing on the ballot.

It was a deep pool of nominees this time around. First-timers Rush, Public Enemy, and Albert King were up against The Marvelettes and Procol Harum. Heart, Donna Summer, and Randy Newman had each been nominated before, competing this year with Chic, Kraftwerk, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, The Meters, and Paul Butterfield Blues Band.

A few other folks planning to make appearances at tomorrow’s ceremony: Spike Lee and Harry Belafonte to pay tribute to Public Enemy; Cheech & Chong to present Adler with his Lifetime Achievement award; John Mayer and Gary Clark Jr. to perform for King; Don Henley to induct Newman; Christina Aguilera and Jennifer Hudson to celebrate the late Donna Summer; and Foo Fighters Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins to present Rush.

Tickets to the big show are sold out, but HBO will air the induction ceremony in full on Saturday, May 18, at 6 p.m. PST.