The Hammer Museum Announces Its Line-Up of Artists for Made in L.A. 2016

Participants represent a diverse range of ages, genders, races, and sexualities

This summer, the Hammer Museum will unveil the third installation of its Made in L.A. series, which highlights the work of local artists. On Wednesday, curators Hamza Walker and Aram Moshayedi announced the list of participating artists in the upcoming show: a, the, though, only. The group represents a broad range of genders, sexualities and races, including artists from all over the world.

At the announcement, museum director Ann Philbin said that Los Angeles’ art scene is at a pinnacle of creativity and exploration. “L.A. is so rich with artists,” she said. “This city has really become a hub and a destination” for people developing new work.

The line-up includes not just visual art, but poetry, choreography, music, and performance pieces. Themes include masculinity, functionality vs. art, feminism, and singularity.

Walker noted that the diversity of artists was in some ways coincidental, and in other ways deliberate.

“I would feel somewhat uncomfortable in saying it just happened that way,” he said, “but it actually sorta kinda did, in terms of going out and looking at work and what we were drawn to … In terms of the development of the list, we would go out and tally up who makes the cut, [then ask things like], ‘Is it super heteronormative?’ But I think over the last couple of decades, [there’s been] a way of thinking and a kind of rhetoric that’s more in us than imposed on us.”

Made in L.A. 2016: a, the, though, only will be on view at the Hammer from June 12 – August 28. Here is the list of participating artists:

  • Aram Saroyan
  • Dena Yago
  • Guthrie Lonergan
  • Todd Gray
  • Rafa Esparza
  • Lauren Davis Fisher
  • Martine Syms
  • Kenneth Tam
  • Kelly Akashi
  • Joel Holmberg
  • Gala Porras-Kim
  • Sterling Ruby
  • Mark Verabioff
  • Shahryar Nashat
  • Rebecca Morris
  • Silke Otto-Knapp
  • Wadada Leo Smith
  • Adam Linder
  • Mike Eckhaus and Zoe Latta of Eckhaus Latta
  • Margaret Honda
  • Arthur Jafa
  • Labor Link TV
  • Daniel R. Small
  • Kenzi Shiokava
  • Huguette Caland
  • Laida Lertxundi