Three East Coast States Add California to Their Travel Quarantine List

If you plan to visit New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut, plan for a long isolation–or a stiff penalty

Anyone planning a trip from California to New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut must now build two weeks of quarantine into their plans before going out into the community, according to a new order issued by those three states today. California has been added to that region’s existing list of high-risk states as local coronavirus cases here continue to swell.

According to the new quarantine order, any traveler from California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, or Utah attempting to travel to the New York region will have to self-quarantine for at least 14 days upon arrival. Failure to comply with the mandatory quarantine will be considered a violation of public health orders and subject to substantial civil penalties. In New York state, NBC 4 reports, that penalty could include fines up to $10,000 per violation.

New York and New Jersey were among the states hit hardest by the early months of the COVID-19 pandemic–but now their local conditions appear to be moving toward stabilization. While California avoided the worst impacts of the outbreak early on–some public health experts even termed it the “California miracle”–the situation has changed quickly as commercial reopening escalated starting around Memorial Day.

Several other states have quarantine orders in place for non-residents visiting from any other state. Maine, Hawaii, Alaska, New Mexico, and Vermont are among those that require most travelers arriving in the state to either isolate for 14 days upon arrival or produce documentation of a negative COVID-19 test result. Oklahoma has a origin-specific rule similar to the New York region rule, which also lists California as a high-risk state, triggering quarantine orders.

There are currently no travel restrictions in place for visitors coming to California from other states. Internationally, the European Union formalized rules today which bar any travelers from the United States and a handful of other countries from entering.

RELATED:  Fury, Exhaustion, Hope: Black Photographers Turn Their Lenses on the Protests

Stay up to date with everything you need to know about L.A. by following us on Facebook and Instagram.