The Hollywood Bowl Summer Series Schedule Has Been Posted!

Add a comment

Thanks to the Los Angeles Philharmonic, we now have 40+ more reasons to countdown to warmer days. The lineup for the Hollywood Bowl Summer Series is out and it’s a good one: annual fan favorites like John Williams and the Sound of Music Sing-a-Long are joined by classical programs (hooray for a Gershwin night!), jazz stars (Herb Alpert and Lani Hall will make an appearance), an eclectic mix of world music artists (including Rodrigo y Gabriela), hipster acts like She & Him, and big name draws like Natalie Cole, Emmylou Harris, Tony Bennett, Josh Groban, Willie Nelson. Plus, a few remaining slots in KCRW’s programs mean there’s still hope for acts to make the list. Our fingers are crossed for Tame Impala. Subscriptions are available now; single concert tickets go on sale in May.

Here’s the lineup:

Saturday, June 22. 8:00pm
Opening Night at the Bowl
Hollywood Bowl Orchestra
Thomas Wilkins, conductor

Sunday, June 23, 7:00pm
She & Him • Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
Additional artist to be announced
KCRW’s World Festival 2

Sunday, June 30, 7:00pm
Reggae Night XII – Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley
KCRW’s World Festival 1

Tuesday, July 2, 7:30pm
Wednesday, July 3, 7:30pm
Thursday, July 4, 7:30pm
Josh Groban July 4th Fireworks Spectacular
Los Angeles Philharmonic
Sarah Hicks, conductor
U.S. Air Force Band of the Golden West

Friday, July 5, 8:00pm
Saturday, July 6, 8:00pm
Warner Bros. presents Bugs Bunny at the Symphony II
Los Angeles Philharmonic
George Daugherty, conductor

Tuesday, July 9, 8:00pm
Tilson Thomas conducts Mahler
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
Kiera Duffy, soprano
Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano
Los Angeles Master Chorale, Grant Gershon, music director

GUSTAV MAHLER Symphony No. 2 “Resurrection”

Wednesday, July 10, 8:00pm
Queen Latifah • Roy Ayers

Thursday, July 11, 8:00pm
Tchaikovsky’s Fourth

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin

NIKOLAI RIMSKY – KORSAKOV Dubinushka
JEAN SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
PETER ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

Saturday, July 13, 7:30pm
Grease Sing-A-Long

Sunday, July 14, 7:00pm
Rodrigo y Gabriela

DeVotchKa
Additional artist to be announced
KCRW’s World Festival 2

Tuesday, July 16, 8:00pm
Elgar’s Cello Concerto

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Bramwell Tovey, conductor
Johannes Moser, cello

BENJAMIN BRITTEN An American Overture
EDWARD ELGAR Cello Concerto
JEAN SIBELIUS Symphony No. 5

Wednesday, July 17, 8:00pm
Sergio Mendes • Herb Alpert & Lani Hall

Thursday, July 18, 8:00pm
Symphonie fantastique

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Bramwell Tovey, conductor
Martin Chalifour, violin

PAUL DUKAS The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
ALEXANDER GLAZUNOV Violin Concerto
HECTOR BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique

Friday, July 19, 8:00pm
Saturday, July 20, 8:00pm
Sunday, July 21, 7:30pm
Pink Martini

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Bramwell Tovey, conductor

Tuesday, July 23, 8:00pm
The Rite of Spring

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin

IGOR STRAVINSKY Fireworks
PETER ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto
IGOR STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Thursday, July 25, 8:00pm
Pines of Rome

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano

FRANZ LISZT Totentanz
FRANZ LISZT Les préludes
OTTORINO RESPIGHI Fountains of Rome
OTTORINO RESPIGHI Pines of Rome

Friday, July 26, 8:00pm
Saturday, July 27, 8:00pm
Sunday, July 28, 7:30pm
Chicago: The Musical

All-star cast to be announced

Tuesday, July 30, 8:00pm
Piano Partners Nonpareil

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Bernard Labadie, conductor
Katia Labèque, piano
Marielle Labèque, piano

FELIX MENDELSSOHN Concerto for Two Pianos in E

Wednesday, July 31, 8:00pm
Props to Pops: Dr. John’s Tribute to Louis Armstrong

Dr. John
The Blind Boys of Alabama, special guests
Terence Blanchard, guest trumpeter
Nicholas Payton, guest trumpeter
Arturo Sandoval, guest trumpeter
Marcus Belgrave, guest trumpeter
Wendell Brunious, guest trumpeter
Additional special guests to be announced

Thursday, August 1, 8:00pm
Haydn’s “London” Symphony

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Bernard Labadie, conductor
Karina Gauvin, soprano
Ann Hallenberg, alto

JOSEPH HAYDN Symphony No. 104, “London”
GIOVANNI BATTISTA PERGOLESI Pergolesi’s Stabat mater

Friday, August 2, 8:00pm
Saturday, August 3, 8:00pm
Tony Bennett

Sunday, August 4, 7:00pm
Headliner to be announced
The Sun Ra Arkestra
Oliver Mtukudzi
KCRW’s World Festival 1

Tuesday, August 6, 8:00pm
Grimaud plays Brahms

Los Angeles Philharmonic
James Gaffigan, conductor
Hélène Grimaud, piano

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Coriolan Overture
RICHARD STRAUSS Don Juan
JOHANNES BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1

Wednesday, August 7, 8:00pm
Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers featuring Edie Brickell

Preservation Hall Jazz Band
Madeleine Peyroux

Thursday, August 8, 8:00pm
Grimaud plays Brahms

Los Angeles Philharmonic
James Gaffigan, conductor
Hélène Grimaud, piano

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Coriolan Overture
RICHARD STRAUSS Don Juan
JOHANNES BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1

Friday, August 9, 8:00pm
Saturday, August 10, 8:00pm
An Evening with Willie Nelson & Family

Hollywood Bowl Orchestra
David Campbell, conductor
Additional artist to be announced

Sunday, August 11, 7:30pm
Dudamel conducts Verdi’s Aida

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Gustavo Dudamel, conductor
Liudmyla Monastyrska, Aida
Jorge de León, Radames
Ekaterina Gubanova, Amneris
Eric Owens, Amonasro
Stefan Kocan, Ramfis
Jordan Bisch, King
Janai Brugger, High Priestess
Los Angeles Master Chorale, Grant Gershon, music director

GIUSEPPE VERDI Aida

Tuesday, August 13, 8:00pm
Dudamel Conducts Verdi’s Requiem

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Gustavo Dudamel, conductor
Julianna Di Giacomo, soprano
Michelle DeYoung, mezzo-soprano
Vittorio Grigolo, tenor
Ildebrando D’Arcangelo, bass
Los Angeles Master Chorale, Grant Gershon, music director

GIUSEPPE VERDI Requiem

Wednesday, August 14, 8:00pm
An Evening with Natalie Cole

Thursday, August 15, 8:00pm
Dudamel Conducts Verdi’s Requiem

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Gustavo Dudamel, conductor
Julianna Di Giacomo, soprano
Michelle DeYoung, mezzo-soprano
Vittorio Grigolo, tenor
Ildebrando D’Arcangelo, bass
Los Angeles Master Chorale, Grant Gershon, music director

GIUSEPPE VERDI Requiem

Friday, August 16, 8:00pm
Saturday, August 17, 8:00pm
Tchaikovsky Spectacular with Fireworks

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Robert Moody, conductor
Santa Clara Vanguard Drum & Bugle Corps, marching bands
Pacific Crest, marching bands

Sunday, August 18, 6:00pm
Smooth Summer Jazz: Dave Koz & Friends Summer Horns Tour 2013

Dave Koz
Mindi Abair, special guest
Gerald Albright, special guest
Richard Elliot, special guest
Additional artists to be announced

Tuesday, August 20, 8:00pm
Itzhak Perlman: Eternal Echoes

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Itzhak Perlman, violin
Cantor Yitzchak Meir Helfgot, tenor
Klezmer Conservatory Band, Hankus Netzky, Music Director and Russell Ger, conductor

Eternal Echoes: Songs and Dances for the Soul

Wednesday, August 21, 8:00pm
Buddy Guy
Funky Meters

Thursday, August 22, 8:00pm
Magnificent Mendelssohn

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Ray Chen, violin

FELIX MENDELSSOHN Hebrides Overture
FELIX MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto
FELIX MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 3, “Scottish”

Friday, August 23, 8:00pm
Saturday, August 24, 8:00pm
Kristin Chenoweth

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Mary-Mitchell Campbell, conductor

Sunday, August 25, 7:00pm
Goat Rodeo

Yo-Yo Ma
Stuart Duncan
Edgar Meyer
Chris Thile
Aoife O’Donovan, guest
KCRW’s World Festival 2

Tuesday, August 27, 8:00pm
The Russian Resistance

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Leon Botstein, conductor
Jennifer Koh, violin

SERGEI PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 1 in D, Op. 19
DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 7, “Leningrad”

Wednesday, August 28, 8:00pm
Wayne Shorter 80th Birthday Celebration

Wayne Shorter
Danilo Pérez
John Patitucci
Brian Blade
Herbie Hancock, special guest
ACS: Geri Allen, Terri Lyne Carrington, Esperanza Spalding
Joe Lovano and Dave Douglas Quintet: “Sound Prints”

Thursday, August 29, 8:00pm
Beethoven’s Third Concerto

Los Angeles Philharmonic
David Afkham, conductor
Paul Lewis, piano

JOHANNES BRAHMS Tragic Overture
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 3
JOHANNES BRAHMS Symphony No. 2

Friday, August 30, 8:00pm
Saturday, August 31, 8:00pm
John Williams: Maestro of the Movies

Los Angeles Philharmonic
John Williams, conductor
Julie Andrews, special guest narrator

Sunday, September 1, 7:30pm
The Big Picture: A Night at the Oscars

Hollywood Bowl Orchestra
David Newman, conductor

Tuesday, September 3, 8:00pm
Mozart and Beethoven

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Nathan Cole, violin
Carrie Dennis, viola

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Così fan tutte Overture
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat for Violin and Viola, K. 364
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Contradances
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1

Thursday, September 5, 8:00pm
Music by Glass – Dance by Diavolo

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Bramwell Tovey, conductor
Diavolo

JOHN ADAMS The Chairman Dances
SERGEI PROKOFIEV Romeo and Juliet Suite
PHILIP GLASS Symphony No. 3 / Fluid Infinities (LA Phil-commissioned world-premiere choreography)

Friday, September 6, 8:00pm
Saturday, September 7, 8:00pm
Blue Man Group

Hollywood Bowl Orchestra
Thomas Wilkins, conductor

Sunday, September 8, 7:00pm
ABBA Fest

Waterloo

Tuesday, September 10, 8:00pm
Rachmaninoff and Gershwin: Romantic Favorites

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Miguel Harth-Bedoya, conductor
Daniil Trifonov, piano

GEORGE GERSHWIN Cuban Overture
SERGEI RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 2
ADAM SCHOENBERG New Work (LA Phil co-commission, West Coast premiere)
GEORGE GERSHWIN Porgy and Bess: Symphonic Picture

Wednesday, September 11, 8:00pm
George Benson: An Unforgettable Tribute to Nat King Cole • Dianne Reeves

George Benson
Dianne Reeves

Thursday, September 12, 8:00pm
Czech Mates

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Jakub Hrůša, conductor
Simon Trpčeski, piano

BEDRICH SMETANA Šárka from Má vlast
SERGEI PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 3
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 6

Friday, September 13, 8:00pm
Saturday, September 14, 8:00pm
Sunday, September 15, 7:30pm
Fireworks Finale: Earth, Wind & Fire

Earth, Wind & Fire
Hollywood Bowl Orchestra
Thomas Wilkins, conductor

Saturday, September 21, 7:30pm
Sing-A-Long Sound of Music

Melissa Peterman, host

Sunday, September 22, 7:00pm
M83 with the Hollywood Bowl Orchestra

Phantogram
KCRW’s World Festival 1

RELATED: Hollywood Bowl: A Selective Anatomy

Related Content