Now Read This: The Week's Best New Books, October 7th Edition - The Culture Files Blog - Los Angeles magazine
 
 

Now Read This: The Week's Best New Books, October 7th Edition

Top titles hitting bookshelves this week

The Best Of L.A.

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo

The Wes Anderson Collection
(Abrams, hardcover, $24)
By Matt Zoller Seitz
In this, the first in-depth review of Anderson’s filmography (including cult classics Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, and The Darjeeling Limited), award-winning critic Seitz conducts a book-length conversation with the director about his life and career.
Out: October 8

The Best Of The West

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo

The Circle
(Knopf, hardcover, $17)
By Dave Eggers
This new novel from the Frisco-based best-selling author tackles this generation’s need to be in constant contact with other people. When Eggers’ protagonist Mae Holland takes a job with tech giant the Circle, she loses everything—including her privacy—in the hopes of gaining what we crave: social acceptance.
Out: October 8

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

The Kingdom of Little Wounds
(Candlewick, hardcover, $21)
By Susann Cokal
Cokal, who was once an assistant professor of creative writing and modern literature at California Polytechnic State, weaves a magically complex tale of deception, jealousy, and power-lust in her first Young Adult novel.
Out: October 8

The Best Of The Rest

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

We Are What We Pretend To Be
(Vanguard Press, paperback, $10)
By Kurt Vonnegut
Vonnegut may have passed away in 2007, but the legacy of this 20th century powerhouse novelist has yet to be diminished. Experience his first and last works, Basic Training and If God Were Alive Today, published for the first time in this collection.
Out: October 8

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Doomed
(Doubleday, hardcover, $15)
By Chuck Palahniuk
The sequel to Palahniuk’s 2011 Damned, our dead leading lady Madison Spencer gets stuck in purgatory (read: Earth) after a botched Halloween ritual goes amiss. There, she must grapple with memories from a past life and deal with Satan, whose plans to bring about an era of eternal damnation don’t sit well with her.
Out: October 8

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Longbourn
(Knopf, hardcover, $16)
By Jo Baker
Fans of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice will not be disappointed with Baker’s belowstairs response to the story we know so well. Here the author regales readers with tales told from the servants’ perspectives, imbuing the lives of her characters with the grit and historical perspective of Regency England during the Napoleonic Wars.
Out: October 8

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.

Advertisement

Stay Connected

 
Get Our LAmag.com Free Newsletter
 
more promotions
Subscribe to Los Angeles magazine
 
Close

Advertisement