The Reading List: September ‘12 - The Culture Files Blog - Los Angeles magazine
 
 

The Reading List: September ‘12

Every month LAmag.com compiles titles of local interest that are hitting the bookshelves. Here, arranged by genre, are some highlights

Memoir and Biography
 
Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

I'd Like to Apologize to Every Teacher I Ever Had: My Year as a Rookie Teacher at Northeast High
(Crown Archetype, hardcover, $24)   
By Tony Danza    
Danza’s crack at teaching tenth-grade English in Philadelphia generates laughs and hard-earned wisdom.  
Out: Sept. 11

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

My Mother Was Nuts
(New Harvest, hardcover, $26)
By Penny Marshall
The wisecracking director takes us through her personal and professional twists and turns, with a supporting cast that includes Carrie Fisher and Art Garfunkel.
Out: Sept. 18

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Michael Douglas: A Biography    
(Crown Archetype, hardcover, $26)  
By Marc Eliot        
Eliot, a biographer of Jimmy Stewart, Cary Grant, and Clint Eastwood, turns his researching talents to Douglas’s career and personal life.        
Out: Sept. 18

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Two Spirits, One Heart: A Mother, Her Transgender Son, and Their Journey to Love and Acceptance
(Magnus Books, paperback, $17)
By Marsha Aizumi & Aiden Takeo Aizumi    
A mother’s journey as she parents a lesbian daughter who decides to become a man is the first of its kind for the LGBT community.
Out: Sept. 18

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Randy Bachman’s Vinyl Tap Stories
(Pintail, paperback, $16)
By Randy Bachman       
The musician who brought us “American Woman” and “You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet” comes out with a new volume of rock ‘n’ roll stories. 
Out: Sept. 25

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Rearview Mirror        
(
Vanguard Press, hardcover, $26)    
By Alana Stewart 
Stewart’s struggles and triumphs in becoming an actress, model, and producer are anything but a seemingly charmed life.    
Out: Sept. 25

Fiction
 
Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

The Forgetting Tree: A Novel      
(St. Martin's Press, hardcover, $26)
By Tatjana Soli    
This L.A. author weaves the love story of a California rancher and a literary hopeful with a love story of the land.
Out: Sept. 4

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 


Hide and Snoop         
(Midnight Ink, paperback, $15)         
By Sue Ann Jaffarian     
In this installment in the Odelia Grey Mysteries series, Grey has to defend her innocence when a babysitting job has deadly circumstances.
Out: Sept. 8

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Between Heaven and Here
(McSweeney's, hardcover, $22)
By Susan Straight
Rio Seco, California, is the backdrop for this story of a woman’s murder, its implications for her family, and its tie to the city’s dark history.
Out: Sept. 12

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

The Cutting Season: A Novel      
(Harper, hardcover, $26)
By Attica Locke    
This L.A. writer chooses an antebellum plantation in Louisiana as the setting for her thriller about two connected murders spanning a century.  
Out: Sept. 18

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Becoming Clementine: A Novel   
(
Plume, paperback, $15)         
By Jennifer Niven 
While Velva Jean Hart serves in the Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASP) during WWII, she looks for her missing brother and finds tragedy and intrigue.
Out: Sept. 25

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 


Panorama City  
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, hardcover, $24)
By Antoine Wilson
A man, a former “village idiot,” thinks he is dying (he’s not) so he decides to record his life story for the benefit of his unborn son.
Out: Sept. 25

Nonfiction
 
Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Are You Smart Enough to Work at Google?: Trick Questions, Zen-like Riddles, Insanely Difficult Puzzles, and Other Devious Interviewing Techniques You...Know to Get a Job Anywhere in the New Economy    

(Little, Brown and Company, paperback, $16)
By William Poundstone   
L.A. author Poundstone unravels the games behind job interviews and proposes new ways to think creatively in today’s technology-driven job market.
Out: Sept. 4

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Argo: How the CIA and Hollywood Pulled Off the Most Audacious Rescue in History
(Viking Adult, hardcover, $27)
By Antonio Mendez and Matt Baglio   
This account follows the plight of the American hostages in Iran in 1979 and the work of the CIA operative who rescued them, disguised as a Hollywood producer.
Out: Sept. 13

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

From the Jaws of Victory: The Triumph and Tragedy of Cesar Chavez and the Farm Worker Movement     
(University of California Press, hardcover, $35)   
By Matthew Garcia        
Garcia has compiled the most comprehensive history on the United Farm Workers to date, with many new oral histories that will change how we think about the UFW.
Out: Sept. 17

 Humor
 
Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays       
(Farrar, Straus and Giroux, hardcover, $26)  
By Davy Rothbart 
In the vein of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley, Rothbart hilariously relates his search for love, usually in the wrong places.
Out: Sept. 4


Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

The Douche Journals: The Definitive Account of One Man's Genius (New Girl)
(It Books, paperback, $17)     
By Schmidt (of New Girl)
Schmidt of FOX’s New Girl delves into the Douche Jar’s past, exploring the douche-like comments, outfits, and innuendos of its first years in existence.  
Out: Sept. 18


Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Humblebrag: The Art of False Modesty
(Grand Central, hardcover, $19)       
By Harris Wittels  
Hate seeing how people attempt to seem humble but brag at the same time on Twitter? Wittels does too, so he created @humblebrag to collect his favorites, now in book form.
Out: Sept. 25

Art and Photography
 
Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 

Presence: The Invisible Portrait 
(Kehrer Verlag, hardcover, $40)       
By Chris Buck      
Bicoastal photographer Buck ironically explores the celebrity search by hiding his famous subjects.  
Out: Sept. 4

Books.2011.Jan.Cover.Phyo 


Dennis Hopper: The Lost Album - Vintage Prints From the Sixties
(Prestel USA, hardcover, $60) 
By Petra Giloy-Hirts
Found after Hopper’s death in 2010, this 1960s album not only includes portraits of his famous friends but also photos of his travels.
Out: Sept. 25



Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.

Advertisement

Stay Connected

 
Get Our LAmag.com Free Newsletter
 
more promotions
Subscribe to Los Angeles magazine
 
Close

Advertisement